Ramadan begins in Nigeria, others


The annual Ramadan monthly fast observed by Muslims worldwide will begin on Saturday April 2, 2022.

This follows the sighting of the crescent of the moon.

The crescent moon of Ramadan 1443/ 2022 has been sighted in Saudi Arabia, Australia and other countries.

Platforms Africa reports that Saudi Arabia, a country with two holy sites in Islam, which announced the sighting of the moon through its Supreme Court, added that the Ramadan fasting starts on Saturday, April 2, 2022.

The date for Ramadan, also known as Ramazan or Ramzan, changes yearly because the Islamic calendar is based on the lunar cycle hence, its starting and end date depends upon the sighting of the crescent moon.

This year, Ramadan may begin in India from the evening of April 2 or 1 Ramadan 1443 AH with the first fast being observed on April 3, 2022, depending upon the sighting of the crescent moon.

Usually, the crescent of Ramadan is first sighted in Saudi Arabia and some parts of India along with some Western countries and then usually a day later in the rest of India, Pakistan, Bangladesh and other countries. In many countries, it is that time of the year already when Muslims across the world are gearing up to sight the crescent moon of Ramadan 2022 tonight.

Ramadan is the ninth month of Islamic calendar, that takes place for 720 hours i.e. four weeks and two days during which the followers of Islam fast between dawn and sunset, pray for peace and guidance, give back to the community in the form of charity or zakaat or engaging in humanitarian activities such as feeding the underprivileged and introspect to enlighten their souls.

List of countries that follow Saudi’s moon sighting announcement

When it comes to Ramadan crescent moon sighting, the countries that align themselves with the Saudi announcements include Afghanistan, Albania, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahrian, Belgium, Bolivia, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Chechnia, Denmark, Finland, Georgia, Hungary, Iceland, Iraq (Sunnis follow Saudi), Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kuwait, Kyrgizstan, Lebanon, Mauritania, Netherlands, Palestine, Qatar, Romania, Russia, Singapore, Sudan, Sweden, Switzerland, Syria, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Tatarstan, Togo, Turkmenistan, UAE, UK, Uzbekistan and Yemen