Oyebanji wins Ekiti governorship election



All Progressives Congress governorship candidate in Ekiti State, Mr. Biodun Oyebanji, was on Sunday morning declared the winner of the election conducted on Saturday by the Independent National Electoral Commission.


The Returning Officer for the election, Prof Kayode Adebowale, who is the Vice Chancellor, the University of Ibadan, announced the results.

Adebowale said, “Oyebanji, having scored the highest number of votes is hereby declared the winner and returned elected as the governor-elect of Ekiti State”

The APC scored 187,057 votes to defeat its closest rival, the SDP, which garnered 82,211 votes, the PDP, which got 67,457 votes and 13 other parties which participated in Saturday’s governorship election.


Out of the 360,753 votes cast, the total valid votes in the election were 351,865.

While the agent of SDP, Owoseeni Ajayi, did not sign the forms for the votes cast, the agent of the ADP, said, “Instead of having polling centres, what we have in Ekiti are vote-buying centres.”

Observers said the polling was married by the buying of votes in some area even as voters openly displayed N500 bribes received from agents of political parties.

Thugs scattered ballot boxes in some areas and attacked voters.

Operatives of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission raised some homes where voters allegedly fled to after collecting bribes



cheap guest posting service