Nine lawmakers impeach Edo speaker







Nine members of the Edo State House of Assembly on Monday impeached the Speaker, Frank Okiye.

The speaker is loyal to Governor Godwin Obaseki.

His impeachment followed a motion by the Majority Leader of the House, Henry Okhurobo.

The impeachment letter was signed by nine of the ten members who were present at the brief sitting on Monday.

Marcus Onobun, representing Esan West State Constituency, was immediately sworn in as the new Speaker of the house.

The assembly has been in crisis since its controversial inauguration in June 2019.