NBC revokes licences of AIT, Raypower, Silverbird, 22 states



The National Broadcasting Commission (NBC) has revoked the broadcast licences of Silverbird TV, AIT, Raypower FM, and Rhythm FM amongst others over failure to renew their broadcast licences amounting to N2.66 billion.

Also affected are the 22 licences of stations owned by state governments.

They are Rivers, Kogi, Anambra, Imo, Gombe, Lagos (2), Osun, Ogun, Ondo, Kaduna, Cross River, Bayelsa, Borno, Yobe, Zamfara, Kebbi, Jigawa and Katsina states.

Others are Niger, Kwara and Sokoto states.

A statement by NBC on Friday noted that the move followed the publication of a list of stations yet to renew their licences.

According to the commission, a two-week waiver was given to them in May to do so after which they risked the revocation of their broadcast licences.

But three months after the publication, NBC said, “some licensees are yet to pay their outstanding debts, in contravention of the National Broadcasting Commission Act CAP N11, Laws of the Federation of Nigeria, 2004, particularly section 10(a) of the third schedule of the Act.

“Therefore, after due consideration, NBC hereby announces the revocation of the licenses of the…stations and gives them 24 hours to shut down their operations. Our offices nationwide are hereby directed to collaborate with security agencies to ensure immediate compliance.”

The broadcast regulator said the continued operation of the “debtor stations is illegal and constitutes a threat to national security”.

naija new