MTN to roll out 5G in seven states



MTN Nigeria Communications Plc said it has kicked off an open 5G pilot in the lead-up to its highly anticipated commercial launch in seven states. The states that will witness the first launch, the company said, include Lagos, Abuja, Port Harcourt, Ibadan, Kano, Owerri, and Maiduguri.

MTN said through its ongoing testing of the 5G infrastructure, its customers with certain enabled devices will be allowed to connect with and try out the new service where coverage is available.

The advanced technology is expected to extend the reach and capacity of MTN Nigeria’s data network in Nigeria and enable much faster speeds and lower latency, giving customers near-instant access to the things they care about and downloads that take seconds, instead of minutes.

nigerian papers