Lagos, Ogun excluded from Conditional Cash Transfers


An investigation by Metrostarng has revealed that residents of Lagos and Ogun states may be excluded from the current phase of the Conditional Cash Transfers from the Federal Government to the “poorest of the poor” Nigerians.

A source involved in the programme told our correspondent that both states had not enrolled their citizens in the CCT programme, from which many states in the North had benefitted.

He said it was for this reason that both states had not been visited by officials of the Federal Ministry of Humanitarian Affairs, Disaster Management and Social Development for disbursement.

Ogun is the only state excluded from the National Social Register of Poor and Vulnerable Households as at March 31, 2020.

Under the programme, vulnerable Nigerians are being paid N5,000 monthly by the ministry.

READ  Edo Prioritises Improved Security To Attract Investments