Edo Group Rejects Obaseki’s Second Term Bid


The Edo Peoples Movement on Saturday said it would not support the re-election bid of Edo State Governor, Godwin Obaseki.

In a communique issued at the end of a meeting in Benin, the state capital, the group blamed Obaseki for the huge losses suffered by the All Progressives Congress in the 2019 elections

They also accused Obaseki of intimidating his critics, especially those perceived to be close to APC National Chairs, Adams Oshiomhole.

The communique and signatories below:

After extensive deliberations on and review of the political developments in the ruling All Progressives Congress in Edo State, the group made up of over 300 Leaders and members of the Party across the State resolved as follows:

That we hereby declare our unalloyed support for the National Leadership of the All Progressives Congress ably led by Comrade Adams Oshiomhole.

That we are committed to rescuing the All Progressive Congress in Edo State due to the monumental loss it suffered in the last Presidential and National Assembly elections as a result of the actions of Governor Godwin Obaseki towards the party and its members.

That as the next Governorship Elections in Edo State approaches we are resolved to work and deliver any candidate who is adequately equipped to strike a balance between delivering on good governance for the people and promoting the party platform that formed the government. Governor Godwin Obaseki certainly does not fit into this condition

That we urge the National Leadership of our party the APC to support this efforts else we stand the risk of losing hold on the government of Edo State to the other political parties with whom the Governor is already empowering clandestinely.

That we condemn in the strongest terms the resort to intimidation and harassment of loyal party members by the Governor and his aides on account of their dissent with the style of Governance and not fulfillment of promises made to many Local government areas. For example: a.The Governor recently threatened to deal with the State Secretary of the Party Mr. Lawrence Okah if he does not heed his demand to resign as Secretary on account of his closeness to the National Chairman of the party. b. The Vice Chairman of Orhionmwon Local Government Council Hon Eleduwa was recently purportedly impeached by Councillors on the prodding of some aides and acolytes of the Governor on account of his closeness to the former Deputy Governor of the State who also contested the Governorship Primaries in 2016 with the Governor. c. The Governor recently threatened to disallow an elected member of the Edo State House of Assembly, Hon Chris Ewere Okaeben from being inaugurated in the upcoming Assembly. d. A Special Assistant to the Chairman of Uhunmwode Local Government Council was recently sacked on the orders of a latter day convert of the Governor on account of his posts on social media about the state of infrastructure in Uhunmwode LGA. All these and many more acts of harassment and intimidation of party members have been the hallmark of the Governor Godwin Obaseki administration.

That we note with great pain the unwholesome attitude of Governor Obaseki during the last Presidential and National Assembly elections wherein he discriminated among the candidates of the party by supporting those he considered his candidates and starved those he considered the candidates of the National Chairman thereby resulting in the collossal loss of that election in two out of the three Senatorial districts in Edo State. Indeed Governor Obaseki lost his ward, local government, federal constituency and Senatorial District.

That we demand the immediate opening of the five star Central Hospital in Benin City built by the Comrade Adams Oshiomhole administration and the resuscitation/ opening of the Tayo Akpata University , Ekiadolor and College Of Agriculture, Iguorhiakhi for the use and benefit of Edo Citizens.

That we urge the State and National Leadership of the All Progressives Congress should note and enforce stringent measures against the Governor whose anti party posture which has become a matter of public knowledge.

(SGD).Engr. F. E. Evbuomwan

Alhaji Charlton Mogaji. Chief Francis Inegbeniki

Barr. MacDonald Obasuke. Hon Patrick Ikhariale

Mrs. Mabel Adams. Hon Bright Osayande

Rt.Hon Thomas Okosun. Hon Luqman Mohammed

Barr. Hayart Asunogie. Hon Anselm Agbabi

Comrade Osakpamwan Eriyo. Comrade Tony Kabaka

Hon Abdul Oroh. Alhaji Ahmed Musa

Hon. Ken Ihenseikhien. Mr.Matthew Ehigie

Barr. S.S Mayaki. Hon Gideon Obhakhan

Alhaji Waziri Oshiomah. Barr. Chris Ebare

Barr. Isimeme Iribhogbe. Mr. Peter Oba

Barr. Monday Eboigbe. Prince Ody Okojie.

Mr. Oladokun Osagie. Mr. Phillip Edobor

Engr. J.E. Eribo. Barr. Osaro Osemwengie.

Mr. Jolly Igbinovia

Hon Henry Idahagbon. Hon Samson Raph. Osagie



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.