Chaos in Osun as Adeleke orders new monarchs to vacate palaces



Chaos erupted in Osogbo, the capital of Osun State on Monday as suspected members of the National Union of Road Transport Workers carried out a street protest around some areas.

The cause of the protest was not known but it may not be unconnected with the alleged plan by some politicians to cause mayhem in the state in the aftermath of the exit of Gboyega Oyetola as the governor on Sunday.

Senator Ademola Adeleke was inaugurated as the new governor and immediately froze the state’s accounts.

He also cancelled all last-minute appointments by his predecessor and warned directors recently promoted to permanent secretaries to get ready to retire.

He also scrapped all last-minute contracts.

On Monday, the new governor warned the transport operators to avoid causing a breach of the peace.

The governor’s spokesman, Olawale Rasheed, said in a statement that any breach of the peace would be dealt with in accordance with the law.

Meanwhile, the governor has ordered the newly appointed Akinrun of Ikirun, Owa of Igbajo and Aree of Ire Monarchs to vacate their palaces with immediate effect.


Adeleke who gave the order in a statement issued by his spokesperson ordered the police to seal up the palaces pending the report of the committee set up to review the appointment of the monarchs.

It reads: “Governor Ademola Adeleke Issues Six Executive Orders Covering Chieftaincy Matters, Appointments, Others


Executive Governor of Osun state, Senator Ademola Adeleke has issued six executive orders to take immediate effect.

The orders signed this morning by His Excellency covered chieftaincy matters, appointments issues, setting up of review panel, staff audit and employment matters.

Each of the Executive orders are reproduced below:
1. Executive Order on State bank accounts
“I hereby order the immediate freezing of all Government accounts in all banks and other financial institutions”


2. Executive Order Number 2 on Staff Audit
“All Heads of Ministries, Departments, Agencies, Commissions, Boards and Parastatals of Osun State Government are hereby directed to carry out an immediate staff audit of the actual number of government workers in their various Ministries, Departments, Agencies, Commissions, Boards and Parastatals, as at 17th July, 2022, and should file a report to the Office of the Chief of Staff to the Governor stating the full details and position/designation of each of the staff on the forwarded list , within 7 working days from the date of this Executive order using the attached Oath of Fidelity Template”

3. Executive Order number 3 on Employment
“All employments in the service of Osun State Government made in any capacity into any capacity in all the Ministries, Departments, Agencies, Commissions , Boards and Parastatals after July 17th, 2022 be and are hereby nullified.


4. Executive Order 4 on Appointments
“All appointments in the service of Osun State Government made in any capacity into any capacity in all the Ministries, Departments, Agencies, Commissions, Boards and Parastatals after 17th July, 2022 be and are hereby reversed.
‘Executive Order number five on Chieftaincy Affairs and appointment of traditional rulers.
READ ALSO: ADELEKE makes first political appointment as Governor in Osun


“All appointments of traditional rulers made by Osun State Government after 17th July, 2022, are hereby ordered to be reviewed to ensure there was strict compliance with due process of chieftaincy declarations and native law, custom and tradition relating to such chieftaincies.

In the case of Ikirun, Iree and Igbajo, to avoid further breakdown of law and order, the appointments of Akinrun of Ikinrun, Aree of Ire and Owa of Igbajo are hereby put on hold pending review.

Subsequently, the palaces of Akinrun of Ikirun, Aree of Iree and Owa of Igbajo should remain unoccupied, while security agencies are hereby ordered to take charge.”


6. Executive Order number 6 Setting up Review Committees
“In line with the executive orders Nos 2, 3, 4 and 5 already issued by me, I hereby order the set-up of the following Review Committees




naija newspapers today