Buhari orders Malami, Amaechi, Ngige, Emefiele to resign



President Muhammadu Buhari on Wednesday ordered some members of his cabinet to resign immediately over their political ambitions.

They are to resign on or before Monday May 16, 2022.

The directive doesn’t affect Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo because he is an elected official, according to the Minister of Information, Alhaji Lai Mohammed, after the weekly Federal Executive Council meeting.

The order issued during the FEC at the State House, Abuja affects the Attorney-General of the Federation and Minister of Justice, Abubakar Malami; the Minister of Labour and Employment, Dr. Chris Ngige; the Minister of State for Education, Emeka Nwajiuba; the Minister of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi; and the Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria, Godwin Emefiele.

Also affected are the Minister of Niger Delta Affairs, Godswil Akpabio; the Minister of State for Petroleum Resources, Timipre Sylva; and the Minister of Science and Technology, Chief Ogbonnaya Onu.

However, Nwajiuba has already resigned, according to Buhari at the meeting.

This follows the decision of the Court of Appeal upholding the contentious Section 84 (12) of the amended Electoral Act, which gives appointive public office holders interested in partisan politics one month before primaries to resign.

The All Progressives Congress had on Wednesday shifted the dates for its primaries by one week, apparently to accommodate the exiting ministers.

Political appointees in various states have already resigned their positions based on directives from their governors.