#EkitiDecides: Fayemi beats Eleka by slim margin


The Independent National Electoral Commission n Sunday declared All Progressives Congress governorship candidate in Ekiti State, Dr. Kayode Fayemi, as the winner of Saturday’s election.

He defeated the Peoples Democratic Party’s candidate, Prof. Kolapo Olusola Eleka, by less than 20,000 votes.
The ejection was marred by violence, snatching of ballot boxes and bribery.

An APC chieftain was arrested by agents of the Department for State Service for bribing voters at a polling unit on the prompting of United Nations observers.

Security agents also barred PDP agents from collating cebtres, raising fears that the result was manipulated.

In fact, Eleka issued a statement on Saturday night, claiming that INEC officials and security agents were changing the figures at the cebtres.

Fayemi was the state governor from 2010 to 2014 and was defeated by outgoing Governor Ayodele Fayose in 2014.

The former minister of mines and steel, was declared winner of the hotly contested July 14 election by the Independent National Electoral Commission, following the collation of the results. As computed from INEC results, Fayemi polled 197,459 votes. His PDP rival Olusola Eleka, a professor got 178,121 votes

Fifty three year-old Fayemi, candidate of the All Progressives Congress won in 12 of the l6 local governments, leaving the PDP rival, Olusola Eleka, the remaining three.

Eleka won in his local council of Ikere-Ekiti, Emure, Efon and Ado-Ekiti.

Fayemi won in Ilejemeje, Irepodun/Ifelodun, which is the local council of the incumbent, Ayodele Fayose, Ido-Osi, Fayemi’s own local council.

The APC candidate also won in Oye, Moba, Ijero, Gboyin, Ekiti West, Ikole, Ise Orun, Ekiti East and Ekiti South West.

Here is the full result as released by INEC:

1. Ilejemeje LGA
APC – 4,153
PDP – 3,937

2. Irepodun/Ifelodun LGA
APC – 13,869
PDP – 11,456

3. Ido-Osi LGA
APC – 12,342
PDP – 11,145

4. Oye LGA
APC – 14,995
PDP – 11,271

*5. Efon LGA
APC – 5,082
PDP – 5,192

6. Moba LGA
APC – 11,837
PDP – 8,520

7. Ijero LGA
APC – 14,192
PDP – 11,077

8. Gboyin LGA
APC – 11,489
PDP – 8,027

*9. Emure LGA
APC – 7,084
PDP – 7,121

*10. Ikere LGA
APC – 11,515
PDP – 17,183

11. Ekiti West LGA
APC – 12,648
PDP – 10,137

12. Ikole LGA
APC – 14,522
PDP – 13,961

13. Ise Orun LGA
APC – 11,908
PDP – 6,297

14. Ekiti East LGA
APC – 12,778
PDP – 11,564

15. Ekiti South West LGA
APC – 11,015
PDP – 8,432

*16. Ado-Ekiti LGA
APC – 28,111
PDP – 32,810


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.